New Irish Law for Gambling Operators in Ireland August 2015

On September 1st 2015 a list of approved Irish operators was published and is available on request or at All licenses issued will be valid for two years and any renewal needed after those two years will cost €10,000. Many household names were amongst the list of registered casinos such as Boylesports and Paddy Power on the Irish side and Ladbrokes, William Hill, Coral and bet365 from casinos out of the Emerald Isle. Gamblers will be happy to know that there are a wide range of UK and international operators to open up more doors of getting the best casino bonuses and more choices of games like Bingo, live dealer roulette, blackjack and slots among many more. International operators included on the list are the ever so popular PokerStars and Full Tilt which is all more than good news for Irish players.

Even though the list was fully released in September, the regulations were in place from the 1st of August 2015, which was that any gaming company, remote casino and bingo sites in Ireland will have a tax of 1% on their gross gaming revenue. For sports betting companies the tax differs, for them it will be a tax of 15%. When comparing these taxes with other European countries, it is more than reasonable, if not very fair. But with the reasonable taxes, higher fines have been set down also. Any operator that allows Irish players to gamble with them illegally will have a fine of €150,000 to look forward to. If the operator continues to re-offend, the fine rises.

It is calculated that the Irish Government will have a gain of €25 million annually from the licensing fees and any fines paid by offending operators not complying with the Irish gambling market. Luckily the effect of the gaming licence is not predicted to have much, if any, impact on Irish players. The only implication that may arise is that if some of the smaller operators decide to not serve Irish customers, but this is not the writing yet so it may be a very low amount. Costs involved for players are not to change due to the licence.


September 1st 2015 Current List of Registered Bookmakers Operators in Ireland

Below is the current list of registered operators and their websites sourced from This list was revised on the 1st of September 2015.



Ladbrokes/ Betdaq:

Beanbag Sports Ltd:

William Hill:

Bruce Betting:


Mangas Gaming Ltd:






SportingIndex Ltd:

Betfred/ Totesport:


Nektan Ltd:

Virtue Fusion Ltd:


Paddy Power:

Betway Ltd:


It's only fair to share...Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on LinkedIn0Pin on Pinterest0

One thought on “New Irish Law for Gambling Operators in Ireland August 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.